3/17/14 Article Writing.. A First!

Today I began working on the article about one of our corporate partnerships! I’m really enthusiastic about this project because believe it or not, I don’t think I’ve ever written a full article before! I do social media, I blog, and I’ve written headlines and article snippets for e-newsletters, but I’ve actually never written a full-fledged article before!

For this article I emailed a list of questions to three staff members from the corporate partner, as well as some questions to our own staff member who manages the partnership. To the staff members at the corporation, I asked:

  • What do you enjoy about being a Big?
  • In what ways has being a Big impacted your life – or have the potential to? Have you learned anything about yourself through BBBSCM?
  • What kinds of things do you do with your Little?
  • How do you think BBBSCM has impacted your Little’s life – or have the potential to?
  • Why do you think mentoring is important? Why partner with BBBSCM? Did you have a mentor when you were a little?

To our Program Coordinator, I asked:

  • When was the partnership was formed?
  • Why/how was the partnership was formed?
  • What kinds of group activities or outings have they done so far (if any)?
  • Any other notable information about the partnership?

Overall, my hope was to get a full range of information. From our Program Coordinator, I would get the basic facts, the who, what, when, where, why, how, and from the corporate staff, I would get quotes, stories, opinions, etc. Together, I would marry the two pieces of information and create a solid article.

Well, so far so good, because our Program Coordinator’s answers to my questions actually ended up going above and beyond the facts. She talked about why this partnership was so special and unique, she provided me with really good quotes. Right now, the article starts with the story of how the corporate partner reached out to BBBS, then why this partnership is special (quote from BBBS), followed by why the partnership is special from the corporation’s point of view (more quotes), and then I mention the kinds of things this partner has done with their bigs so far. I think it’s really coming together, even though it’s just the first draft! I’m waiting on question responses from the CEO, because hopefully that will make for a really nice addition to the article.

Also, I’ve been lucky enough to get lots of photos to compliment this article. I can’t wait to continue improving, adding, and editing it!!

Leave a comment